Entertain Me…

21 11 2011

My parents came back from their trip to Mecca. They loved it. Funny story, we went to pick them up from the airport and we tried to make out how our parents would look. We pictured my mom in a scarf and with a huge smile on her face. The smile was a Free b since she was so happy to see us after the trip to Pakistan during the summer. But my dad it was a little hard to figure how he looked since he had to shave his head as one of the sacrifices of Hajj. We where waiting for almost an hour. Watching and greeting my dads friends and people he knew from Brooklyn. Then I noticed a guy coming with a bald head and a grayish beard, next to him we saw a lady with a huge smile. We realized that had to be our parents. I really didn’t recognize my dad because he had bags in his eyes, a bald head and a beard. My mom looked as if she had shrunken and had a mean tan. They returned with four suitcases instead of two so we figured they have bought a lot of things with them. We all were really excited that they have came back. They had a great time there.

On the car ride back my dad had explained why it took them so long to see us. The reason was that he was stopped by security. They asked him if he had military training. I mean c’mon like someone would admit that they have had some. They have to stop this racial profiling.

Anyways that is not what I was going to post. The real topic is the LMS (like my status) on Facebook. Everyone is posting these and it is getting quit annoying.

Some examples are:

  • LMS for truth is… (most popular but some people don’t reply to the like)
  • LMS and I’ll check off the boxes;
    If we walked home I would:
    [] Hold your hand
    [] Push you in a Bush
    [] Trip you
    [] Talk to you
    [] Ignore you       ( I would push the guy who invented this into a bush)
  • LMS for a good morning post (and for goodnight)
  • LMS for a comment on a fav pic of you.

Why do people post these up if they don’t reply to your “Likes”? Not only does that make me a little upset. But these types of statuses portray the “friend” as a bored person. But non the less I give some people props for making their own type of LMS post.

Actions

Information

20 responses

22 11 2011
Becoming Bitter

I don’t have a Facebook and I have plenty of reasons why I don’t have one. I’m too lazy to put them all here.

I’m happy that your parents are back safe, sound, and well. My grandmother got really sick. About the racial profiling – I agree. It’s stupid and no one is going to admit to that either.

Hmm… well take care Fox.

22 11 2011
Fox@n

I request you to write a post on the reasons why you don’t have a facebook account.
I hope your grandmother is better.

22 11 2011
Becoming Bitter

My grandmother is getting better. So it’s all good now.

A post about why I don’t have a Facebook? A post about the reasons why I don’t like it? You want me to be killed cyber style eh?

Fine. Bitter takes all requests. I’ll make one (but I probably won’t be able to publish it until January/February). I’m backed up right now on requests and stuff. Two of them are poems and one is actually my response to writing challenge. The writing challenge will be published next month so look forward to that.

Oh yeah before I forget, did you hold your cursor over your name in my “Thank You!” post? If you didn’t go do it now. *evil smile*

22 11 2011
Fox@n

I can’t wait to read it. Ohh yeah i didn’t see htat it was funny. thanks bitter

22 11 2011
ristinw

Good to hear about your parents return home happily from the trip to Mecca! 🙂

22 11 2011
Fox@n

Thanks Ristinw. I appreciate your comment.

22 11 2011
thejawavillager

Haven’t encountered the LMS thing here. Not complaining. LMS sounds stupid…and rhymes with PMS. The main beef I have with facebook is how it assumes we have no life outside it. The stalk-bar esp pissed me off. WHY WOULD YOU ASSUME I CARE WHAT SO AND SO JUST DID? It’s offensive.

22 11 2011
Fox@n

I feel you Jawavillager.

22 11 2011
the island traveler

I wish people are more sensitive to issues like this. I always thought that when someone says a comment, it would be polite to answer back but nowadays more people just don’t care any more. Sad but true. I hope you don’t stop doing the right thing. Sometimes, someone may be touched by the gesture and have a change of mind or heart. Cool post. I’m clicking “like” with a comment…ha, ha, ha….

22 11 2011
Fox@n

Thanks Island Traveler . Lol I replyed haha.

22 11 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I know the “LMS” can be quite annoying. I didn’t want a facebook page but I finally got one. And if you want to like me then do so. If not, its fine. I think people shouldn’t push stuff on you just because..

22 11 2011
Fox@n

Will do Kay.

22 11 2011
The Hook

I try to avoid facebook as much as possible; I’m not “hip” enough for social networking!

22 11 2011
Fox@n

lol i have a lot of older relatives tht have it and i try to avoid all of them

23 11 2011
eva626

like me lol

22 11 2011
Becoming Bitter

Fox I want to invite you to check out this new blog I started.

If you’re interested in being an author or contributor let me know.

Here’s the blog: purerants.wordpress.com

Feel free to drop by whenever you want.

22 11 2011
Fox@n

Thanks Bitter that is very generous of you.

22 11 2011
CherieRSC

Glad your parents made it home safe in time for the holidays 🙂

Facebook looks interesting at times but I think if i read reading all of my family/classmates/etc statuses I might not like them so much anymore jk lol but they seem like completely different people online than they do in real life!

23 11 2011
Fox@n

Yeah that is so true. thanks fo dropping by.

23 11 2011
eva626

true. but i none of my ‘friends’ do lms… yup its good to have the parents back!

Leave a Reply

